Posted by: Calvin | February 3, 2008

Homemade Slushes for Everyone!

We love Slurpees at our house.  We would have one everyday . . . heck, we would have three everyday.  (We live in Florida where it is 80ºF in the winter.)  At a little league baseball game, I watched kids eating snow cones from the concession stand and shared my love of such icey treats with one of the other moms.  She told me about the Hamilton Beach Icey Treats Ice Shaver.  When my mom asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I gave her that item as a gift idea.   Of course, she couldn’t find it anywhere.  Coincidentally, on quick stop at Bed, Bath and Beyond to pick up a present for her, I spotted them in the appliance isle.  It was about $25 ($20 with the coupon).  I bought it for her to give back to me.

We love it!  We use it so much that it often stays out on the kitchen counter.  We mix the ice with orange juice for breakfast and sodas or Kool-Aide or other flavored bevearages at lunch or for a snack.  I even put shaved ice in my water for dinner.  It is easy to use.  Just add ice and turn it on.  The boys can use it on their own.  The only down side is that it is LOUD! 

If you get one, here are some free tips:  We have found that it is faster if we use crushed ice from the refrigerator door.  We do not mix the flavoring in the machine.  That way there is very little cleaning required.  We fill the cup we will use to drink, or slurp, the slush about one third full with the soda or orange juice, then add the ice and pour more soda or orange juice as desired.  We have found that it only takes a half can of soda to make one slush.  The kids (and I) get our soda fix on a half a can or less!

Another great unexpected aspect of this relatively inexpensive item is how popular the slushes are with the kids in the neighborhood.  The boys play outside with other neighborhood boys.  When they are hot and sweaty, they come in and ask if I will make them slushes.  10 minutes later I have slushes for all the boys!  Of course, I send them right back outside to drink them!

Did you get any gifts over the holidays that exceeded your expectations?  What appliances do you use all the time that make your life easier or happier?

Responses

  1. Yummy!!! The slushies sound delicious 🙂

    Marcia

  2. This product is a big hit at our house. There is also a very large George Foreman Grill that gets a lot of use.


Leave a Reply

Categories

