Posted by: Calvin | February 1, 2008

The Faith Club

A Muslim, A Christian, A Jew--Three Women Search for UnderstandingMy book club unanimously chose to read The Faith Club: A Muslim, A Christian, A Jew-Three Women Search for Understanding, by Rayna Idliby, Suzanne Oliver, and Priscilla Warner.  I believe in God and call myself a “Christian” but I do not formally practice any particular religion.  Some of the women in the book club are very religious and others are probably more like me.  We have Christian and Jewish participants, but I do not think any of us are Muslim.  I voted to read this book because lately have have been questioning whether as a parent I should be focusing more on developing my sons’ “faith” in God and if I am making a mistake by not regularly exposing my boys to an organized religion.  I look forward to finishing the book and to the dinner where I will be able to discuss it with the wonderful group of women in my book club.  Our discussions are always so lively and meaningful, regardless of the topic or whether we liked the book we have read.   This topic should be very interesting!

__________________________________________

About 1/3 through the book Fisherman asked:  “So, how is the book this month?”

Me:   “It is actually pretty good.  It is about three women, one is a Christian, one is Jewish and the other is Muslim.  They meet to discuss their respective religions.  I am learning a lot and guess what?”

FM:  “What?”

Me:  “As I read about the differences in the three religions, I have decided that I am Muslim.”

FM:  “That’s nice, dear.”

Responses

  1. You are not a muslim

  2. Where is the comment from the author?

  3. See Priscilla Warner’s comment on my About page.

  4. […] by Rayna Idliby, Suzanne Oliver, and Priscilla Warner.  About 1/3 through the book, I posted some initial impressions and had the pleasure of a visit to my site with a comment from one of the authors, Priscilla […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

