Posted by: Calvin | January 20, 2008

Primary 2008 – Almost Time to Decide

There were many years in my life that I was politically active.  I knew all the candidates and where they stood.  My term on the Executive Committee for our local Republican party ended about the same time that my first child was born.  I decided reaching the end of a term was a graceful way to bow out for a while.  I was taking a hiatus in my political life to begin a new, more challenging stage of my personal life. 

So, I have less than two weeks to decide who to vote for in the Florida primary and I still have not made up my mind.  In the nick of time, our local paper did an article about the Connect2Elect website created to help people sort through the choices.  I went to the website, created a profile and was slightly surprised by the results.  It was no surprise that the top seven candidates on my list – those that who are aligned with my political views, social  views and core values – are Republican . . . BUT the guy I thought would ultimately get my vote is number 7 on the list.  Now I have to keep researching and contemplating!

Responses

  1. A lot of people are saying that about these kinds of sites. I think the problem with them is all they can sort through are issues, and choosing a candidate is about so much more than just that…

  2. First of all, you stole my topic for the day Connect2Elect. I’ll forgive you. Secondly, early voting began last week here in Our County. I voted last Tuesday, and WineGuy voted the first day. You could vote now. BTW, there was a good summary of all the candidates’ positions in today’s paper, too.

  3. I have never been particularly impressed with those candidate matching sites. While they always get the political party right, the only time the candidate actually matched who I initially supported was in the 2000 primaries! As Sparrow said, there is only so much those sites can do.

  4. I agree with tpgoddess and sparrow. I went to the site thinking “if this site says I am most like so-n-so, I will just vote for him and be done with it. I was sort of hoping I would just be done with it!

    In truth, I do not plan to vote for the candidate that thinks most like me on the issues. I will vote for the Republican candidate I think is more likely to get the popular vote in November. So in actuality, the site is somewhat irrelevant to me, but is was still fun to see the results.

  5. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

Categories

