Posted by: Calvin | January 19, 2008

Underappreciated Stuff

On the tag surfer I found a blog written by a married father in the Midwest that I find enjoyable:  The Everyman blog.  He got my attention with a very touching post about his young daughter and her habit of skipping everywhere she went.  Undoubtedly, until now, he probably is unaware that I am lurking out here reading what he has to say on regular basis, which got me thinking . . . is lurking like stalking?  I decided no.  In case “Everyman” is reading this, I assure you that I am very happily married woman with kids of my own living a LONG way away from you! 

I read because Everyman often posts about baseball, which I need to learn more about to keep up with my son, and I can only handle so much Sports Center.  I also enjoy reading what a seemingly stable, family oriented, reasonable, professional, male person has to say about life in general. 

A recent post on The Everyman Blog was titled “Underappreciated Stuff”.  He got me thinking of underappreciated stuff in my life.

  • Board Games.  What a great way to actually spend time with people talking, laughing and just being together.  We have many board games and rarely play them.
  • Slurpees.  It is hot a lot where I live.  There is nothing better than a Coke Slurpee on a hot afternoon.
  • Electric Pencil Sharpeners.  GM gave me and electric pencil sharpener for Christmas in 2006.  We used it everyday, but after a while it just wasn’t the same.  The beginning of the end was probably when I dropped it on the tile floor and had to use Scotch tape to keep it together.  I bought myself another electric pencil sharpener for Christmas this year and — oh MAN — it is awesome.  I challenge you to find a dull pencil in my house!
  • Spell Check.  This feature is often taken for granted.  For some reason, my home e-mail program does not have it.  I am a VERY bad speller.  I found that when I sent an e-mail from home, I would have to change an entire sentence when I got to a word I did not know how to spell (and was too lazy to get a dictionary or go to a dictionary website – in part because it is not always easy to find a word in the dictionary it you do not know how to spell it!)  Sometimes I hit send and cross my fingers, other times I log onto my work computer to use my work e-mail which has spell check.  Using my Blackberry – – forget it.  I have unilaterally made a universal rule that spelling doesn’t count on mobile devices. 
  • The Everyman blog.  Go to his blog and leave a comment!  AND – I have to agree with him completely on the next item, which I shamelessly copy from his list . . .
  • Lunch Dates with My Husband.  Time away from work.  No need for a babysitter.  Excellent points.  Thanks to Everyman, I will have a greater appreciation for lunch dates with my husband!

I am sure I will come up with more and ADD IT TO THE LIST later!

Responses

  1. Thanks very much for the kind words, Calvin, you just officially made my blogroll. (And don’t worry, I never suspected you of being a stalker. :))

    Excellent additions to the list of underappreciated stuff, particularly the kind words about Slurpees. I am the scorekeeper for my son’s baseball team, and there is nothing more satisfying to me than sitting in the stands on a warm summer night and cheering on the kids, with a pencil for marking the score book in one hand and an ice-cold Coke Slurpee in the other.


Leave a Reply

Categories

