Posted by: Calvin | December 27, 2007

2007 Meme

I shamelessly stole this meme from a blog that showed up on my Tag Surfer.  I am so shameless, I have no idea whose blog I stole it from: 

1. Where did you begin 2007?  Asleep in my cozy bed!

2. Did you have to go to the hospital? No, but I did visit a friend in the hospital . . . which was also my most embarrassing moment in 2007.  See 27 below. 

3. Did you have any encounters with the police?  Yes, Yes, Yes, and . . . Yes, assuming a park ranger the Florida Wildlife Conservation Bla-bla-bla Department counts.  That was the forth time in 2007.  He pulled us over in the boat in the Gulf of Mexico for a registration, equipment, fishing license and cooler check (to make sure we did not catch too many or the wrong fish).  A couple weeks before that we were stopped in the Fakahatcchee Canal for the same reason by a Sheriff’s Deputy.  The other run in was when our employee’s were accused of a jewelry heist at a job we were working.  They tried to get us to give them our employee list . . . without a warrant.  We denied the request.  [A simple search of the local paper revealed that this building had been the scene of a jewelry heist numerous times over the last 3 years or so, all years we were not at the property.  Can you say scapegoat?]  Also, when we were victims of a check writing scam, we called the police and got NO COOPERATION WHATSOEVER (see the next answer) and had less than stellar results in 2006 after reporting stolen equipment.  They do not help us in our need, but expected us to bend over backwards to help them harass our employees – I don’t think so!

4. Where did you go on vacation?  March we spent 5 days and in Stuart, Florida.  We stayed at the Hutchinson Island Marriott right on the beach.  It would have been better if the first day we didn’t get a call from the office telling us that someone or some group of hoodlums printed checks with our banking information and forged Fisherman’s signature on many, many fake checks around town.  We spent much of that trip on-line trying to clean up the resulting mess.  We spent the 4th and 5th of July at the Marco Island Marriott to see fireworks from the beach over the Gulf of Mexico.   In August we spent 11 days in Colorado.  5 in Boulder and 6 in Breckenridge.  It is a beautiful place, but can you say Altitude sickness?  We spent another weekend in Miami to see a Marlins game and have a night at the Ritz-Carlton in Key Biscayne.  We had an awesome suite there overlooking the ocean.

5. What did you purchase that was over $500? Not one thing!  Just vacations and great memories!  Oh . . . and private school tuition for two students . . . no wonder I didn’t buy much of anything else!

6. Did you know anybody who got married?  A good friend of mine got married.  She had been a single Mom who managed to raise her son on her own while developing a career in the profession for which she had earned a masters degree.  She is an amazing woman.  Her husband is a VERY lucky guy.  (AND . . . The judge recently ordered the termination of the “dad’s” parental rights so her new husband can adopt her son.  The order came after her lawyer had an honest-to-goodness “Perry Mason moment” in open court!  I will have to blog about that someday.)

7. What sporting events did you attend?  I attended many little league and Pop Warner football games (and practices).  I am assuming that most people would interpret this to mean pro sporting events . . . we went to a couple of Red Sox spring training games (Baseball Boy threw the ceremonial first pitch at the Red Sox v. Yankee’s game!!), a Twins spring training game (thank you Alto2 for the tickets), a Miracle game (minor league team), a Colorado Rockies game at Coors Stadium in Denver and a Marlins game at Joe Robbie Stadium in Miami.

8. What concerts/shows did you go to? The boys and I went to see Riverdance.  Thank you again to Alto2 for the tickets!  Mojo now has fancy footwork!

9. Where do you live now?  Southwest Florida

10. Describe your birthday:  First, I do not have a birthDAY, I have a birthWEEK!  We celebrated my 2006 birthday in February 2007 and my 2007 birthday in October 2007.  In October 2006 (my actual birth month), Garage Guy was to make his famous spaghetti for my birthday dinner.  He had a death in the family and had to cancel.  My rain-check came in February, when many of our neighbors were in residence, including those from England and Scotland.  I had not had a birthday in February before.  It was quite nice.  For my real Birthday in October, we did nothing special.  A whole week of nothing special . . . except that is the week that Alto2 was on Jeopardy!  The boys were deep into their fall sports (baseball and football) so it was good that breathing was involuntary or I may not have had time for it.

11. What’s the one thing you thought you would never do, but did in 2007?  I joined a book club.  I am convinced I am an undiagnosed dyslexic.  I spent most of my formal education avoiding reading to the extent possible.  It got more and more difficult when I was in law school!

12. What’s something you learned about yourself?  That I probably have dyslexia and never knew it.  I have taken one of my sons for many rounds of tests for various learning disabilities.  The more I learn about learning disabilities, the more I am convinced I have dyslexia.

13. Any new additions to your family? No.

14. What was your best month?  Probably June when I learned that I passed the awful exam, as well as peer review, to become a Board Certified Real Estate Attorney.

15. What music will you remember 2007 by?  Songs that play on the Mix on XM, where I first heard the song “Home” by Michael Buble’.  That song reminds me of my quest to earn Board Certification.  I heard the song as I drove to take the review courses and on my way to take the exam, all the while wishing I was home and hoping the time away would be worth the effort.

16. Made new friends?  I made many new friends at my sons’ little league games.  I look forward to next season to see them again and make new friends.  But more importantly, I most enjoy the new friends I have made through this blog.  Thank you to Alto2 and all of the August Moms for the warm welcome and your kind comments.  Thanks to my new blog friend Bunny too!

17. Favorite night out?  It is a toss up between my friend’s wedding, her bachelorette party or the night my Book club met to discuss “The Borgia Bride”.  (I really need to get out more!)

18. Any regrets?  I worked too much.  I would rather have spent more time with my boys and my friends.

19. What do you want to change in 2008?   I want to work less and live more.

20. Overall, how would you rate this year?   On a 1-10 scale, I’d say this year has been a 7.

21. Other than home, where did you spend most of your time?  In my office and at a baseball field.

22. Change your hairstyle?  No.

23. Buy a new car?  No.

24. Any car accidents?  No.

25. How old did you turn this year?  43

26. Do you have a New Year’s resolution?  I am working on it.  See future posts.

27. Do anything embarrassing?  I walked into my friend’s hospital room to find her perched on a portable potty next to her bed!  Hint:  If the curtain around the hospital bed is closed, don’t assume it is just be because the patient is trying to avoid her roommate!

28. Be honest – did you watch American Idol?  I watch the auditions only to see the hilarious wackados who think they are remotely talented.  Beyond that I can not be bothered with the show.

29. Start a new hobby?  I joined the Borgia Book Club!  AND, I started this blog.  That also is amazing.  If you only knew how many courses I dropped or did not take in college when I found out the professor required a term paper!

30. Will you be happy to see 2007 go?  I am indifferent for the most part.  I am happy to see each stage of my life unfold, but I would also like each stage to go slower!

31. Been naughty or nice? I’d say nice. I have found that, overall, my life is kind of boring, but in a good way!

This meme helped me to review the year.  If you would like to review your year . . . consider yourself tagged!

Responses

  1. […] 28, 2007 Posted by ramblingmom under Uncategorized   Taken from Calvin who doesn’t know where she got […]

  2. […] 2007 in review From Add it to the List: […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

