Posted by: Calvin | December 17, 2007

Candy!

Today I met Baseball Boy’s 3rd grade class for a field trip at Kilwin’s candy shop located on our posh downtown avenue.  I was skeptical about the value of a field trip to a candy shop, but the confectioners did a great job.  They  managed to work math and science concepts into the demonstrations and kept the children fairly occupied.  Each child made their own chocolate covered pretzel  (with or without sprinkles), tasted ice cream and closely watched as the experts made chocolate fudge.   The smiles on the childrens’ faces were delightful! 

I let Baseball Boy pick a candy to take home for he and Mojo.  Of all the items to choose from, he picked:

“A psychedelic jawbreaker measuring 2.5” all the way around. This jawbreaker changes color as you get closer to the center! “

jawbreaker.jpg

I bought one for each of them.  They were way too big for the boys to put into their mouths!  It was hilarious watching them try to eat them after dinner. 

________________________________________

Christmas Countdown Update – 12/17/07 – 8 days to go!  Today I scheduled a big closing for next Tuesday.  My client said that would be fine.  I hung up and went to add the closing to the calendar.  Tuesday is Christmas!  I called him back and left a voice message that, “Tuesday was not going to work, can we try for this Friday or next Thursday?”  I wonder if he figured out yet that Tuesday is Christmas?

This afternoon, I stood in line at the post office for over 1/2 hour and spent a ridiculous amount of $$$ shipping gifts (much cheaper, however, than flying around the country to deliver them myself).  Work is busy.  The School has multiple activities planned that involve families.  I do not have time for any of them, but will attend most.  I have not gotten around to sending my brothers’ family and one of Fisherman’s brothers’ family a gift yet.  There is just not enough time in the day.  Even so, the boys are SOOOOOO excited for Christmas that the spirit is catchy – my Christmas spirit is a 6 out of 10 . . . in the evenings after I get home from work!

Leave a Reply

Categories

