Posted by: Calvin | December 8, 2007

Bahumbug!

Christmas Spirit Countdown:   12/07/07 – 1 out of 10

Trees, Flowers and Birds are getting into the season.  Somewhere in the Suburbs they are getting into the season.  Me?  Not so much.  I do not have one Christmas decoration up inside my house, except for a Santa sitting in a sleigh that has been on my plant shelf for years.  Truth be told, I am too lazy to get out a ladder to take him down.  Now I am used to him sitting there in our great room watching nearly all that occurs in the common areas of our modest home.  I have rationalized my laziness by saying he is a constant reminder to my kids that Santa watches them year round to decide if they are naughty or nice.  Rationalizations aside, I am just plain lazy!

I need to do something to get me out of this bahumbug funk I am in.  On a scale of 1 to 10, I would say my Christmas spirit is somewhere around a 1 right now.  My boys are starting to get excited.  So I need to kick it up a notch!  Tomorrow the tree goes up.  The ornaments will dangle and the angel will be perched atop.  If my husband is not around, I might even put up the musical bells that light up to each note in the scale.  I will dust off my violin and try to play Christmas carols with the boys and talk GM across the street into getting out her accordion.  (Yes, it has become a tradition for us to play violin/accordion Christmas carol duets by the bonfire!)  I wish I could say I am getting excited just thinking about it.  Maybe I need a good night’s sleep . . . we shall see.  There is also a good chance that after a good night’s sleep the only change will be that I will closely resemble my Christmas Elf name:

Christmas Elf Name

My Christmas Elf Name is

Get your Christmas Elf Name at JokesUnlimited.com

Responses

  1. Get off your sorry ass and get into the spirit! I’m sure it doesn’t help that your bagel buddy here is nearly done with her holiday obligations — that includes buying DH’s nurse her present.

    You have two terrific kids and wonderful husband. Do something nice for them and then we’ll go out and have a good time. Mom’s Night Out is your reward.


Leave a Reply

Categories

