Posted by: Calvin | November 28, 2007

Obscure Movie Line Answers

On November 16, 2007, I posted about obscure movie lines I catch myself saying from time to time.  Thank you to Marcia and Sock Girl for giving the quiz a try.   Sock Girl guessed her way to a respectable 2 out of 5, and Marcia, who worried she was “pitifully off” scored a 5 out of 5! 

And the answers are:

  1.  “I’m sailing!  Look at me . . . I’m sailing!”   What About Bob?  Line delivered by Bob (Bill Murray) while he is tied to a mast on a sailboat in the middle of a lake in New Hampshire.
  2. “Are you trying to irritate me in the middle of a snow storm?”  Driving Miss Daisy  Line delivered by Miss Daisy (Jessica Tandy) to Boolie (Dan Aykroyd) when he calls to see if she is doing okay during a snow storm.
  3. “What a funny little guy!” Home Alone  Line delivered by the father (John Heard) in the last scene after his son, Kevin (Macaulay Culkin), explained how he survived his time home alone (also starring Joe Pesci as a wayward criminal).
  4. “You’re a hell of a bonder.” My Cousin Vinny  Line delivered by Mona Lisa Vito (Marisa Tomei) to Vinny (Joe Pesci)  after he went hunting with the prosecuting attorney (Lane Smith), who to Vinny’s surprise gives him a copy of documents he was entitled to by law after he “just asked.”
  5. “I think I’ll go for a walk . . .”   Monty Python and the Holy Grail  Line delivered by a old man slung over the shoulder of a younger man who is taking him to the crew who come through town periodically and holler, “Bring out your dead.”

. . . AND the title obscure line on which no one (understandably) ventured a guess:  “Listen . . . Do you smell that?” is from GhostbustersThe line was delivered by Dr. Raymond Stantz (Dan Aykroyd) to the other two ghostbusters (Bill Murray and Harold Ramis) during one of their first gigs in a New York library amongst book stacks in the basement.

Just tonight I realized that Joe Pesci, Bill Murray and Dan Aykroyd are each in 2 out of 6 of the movies from the post. 

Joe Pesci . . . “What a funny little guy!”

Responses

  1. And I thought my brain was the repository for all the useless information in the world. I could never guess those movie lines.

  2. Alto2: At least your repository for useless information made you a Jeopardy Champion!


Leave a Reply

Categories

