Posted by: Calvin | November 22, 2007

Giving Thanks

I am too tired at the moment to compose a beautiful list of all that I am thankful for in my life, so I asked my sons to “quick tell me 5 things that you are thankful for.”  Here is how it went:

Mojo went first and rattled off his list with no hesitation:

  • my hockey table
  • my bad guitar
  • my family
  • my little gator claw
  • nature

Baseball Boy was next.  He asked, “Why do you want to know?” I replied, “Someday I would like to be able to look back and see what you were thankful for when you were 8 years old and (Mojo) was 6 years old.”  That worked.  He gave me his list:

  • my violin
  • my family
  • my neighbors
  • my cat
  • computers
  • tv

You may have figured out that Baseball Boy had 6 items.  He could not decide between computers or tv so he negotiated a 6th item.  In my state of exhaustion, the negotiations were very short.  6 it is.

Now, I am thankful that I am finished with today’s post.  I am off to get the boys in bed, read a couple of chapters of “Loving Frank” by Nancy Horan, and then sleep!  What time I wake up in the morning will determine whether I am brave enough to take advantage of tomorrow morning’s time sensitive deep discounts at Bass Pro Shops (one stop shopping for the boys in my house).

Responses

  1. Just to let you know that, one year after our brush with mortality, I am very thankful for your friendship. I never imagined a casual conversation in the preschool parking lot would lead to such a meaningful bond.


Leave a Reply

Categories

