Posted by: Calvin | November 17, 2007

16 ACRES

. . . is my Ecological Footprint according to a quiz I took on this Earthday website.  (Click on the Ecological Footprint link on the right side of the page.)

  • IN COMPARISON, THE AVERAGE ECOLOGICAL FOOTPRINT IN MY COUNTRY IS 24 ACRES PER PERSON.
  • WORLDWIDE, THERE EXIST 4.5 BIOLOGICALLY PRODUCTIVE ACRES PER PERSON.
  • IF EVERYONE LIVED LIKE ME, WE WOULD NEED 3.6 PLANETS.

Here are my stats by category:

CATEGORY ACRES 
FOOD 5.4
MOBILITY 2.5
SHELTER 3
GOODS/SERVICES 4.9
TOTAL FOOTPRINT 16

Translation:  I eat too much meat.  I create too much garbage.  My house it too big.  I drive too much.  I need to be a better ecological citizen . . . I will add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

Categories

