Posted by: Calvin | November 14, 2007

Proof, I have no Accent

What American accent do you have? (Best version so far)NeutralYou’re not Northern, Southern, or Western, you’re just plain -American-. Your national identity is more important than your local identity, because you don’t really have a local identity. You might be from the region in that map, which is defined by this kind of accent, but you could easily not be. Or maybe you just moved around a lot growing up.Personality Test Results

Click Here to Take This Quiz
Brought to you by YouThink.com quizzes and personality tests.

I went to law school in Atlanta.  My class had students from all over the USA.  I was surrounded by people with accents.  By the end of my three years I could even identify the different dialects found throughout the South.  Within minutes of hearing a person speak I could tell if they were from L.A. (lower Alabama), North Carolina or Tennessee. 

I grew up in Michigan and was convinced I had no accent.  This was a fact I would gladly share with anyone who asked.  I insisted my speech had the lack of accent coveted by TV news anchors.  Very few people agreed with me.  I was the person most likely to be teased about my accent.

I now have proof I was right!  My accent is “Neutral.”  The web test I took is clearly, totally, undeniably reliable!

Responses

  1. Good — we can sit around and chat sometime and drive everyone else crazy.

    I can’t wait to see what Alto2 shows.

  2. Crap! The accent quiz is crap! You, Rambling Mom, and Are We There Yet? all have classic midwestern accents: flat “A”s and shortened vowels. That is not neutral; it is patently identifiable. Sniff.

  3. Alto2, do you have a cold? You sure are sniffing
    a lot! 🙂 I think it is interesting that Northern IL is not included in the “neutral zone”. I could ALWAYS tell a “Cheecahgo” accent. DH’s best friend moved downstate from the Windy City in HS, and everyone had great fun imitating his accent.

    Marcia

  4. Ah! You may have a “neutral accent,” but that’s not what’s prized by newscasters. No sir, *I* have the newscaster accent:
    You have a Northern accent. That could either be the Chicago/Detroit/Cleveland/Buffalo accent (easily recognizable) or the Western New England accent that news networks go for.
    Sorry to burst your bubble 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

