Posted by: Calvin | November 3, 2007

Day Off

It is now about 1:30 am on Saturday morning and I am just getting to my Friday post.  I suspect I have technically just failed to post daily for National Blog Posting month.  While disappointing, I suppose it is good to have that added pressure off my list!  This is sure better than writing every day for 28 or so days and then getting to my next blog after the strike of midnight.  I feel sort of like I did when I was in elementary school during the spelling bee.  I am a terrible speller, so it was so much easier to get a word wrong early in the contest.  Then I did not have the fret the more and more difficult words later on in the bee.  Multiplication bees and head stand contests in PE were another story.  I was in those until the end and no one, I mean no one, could get in my way of the grand prize (which back then was the mere knowledge that I had won).

That said . . . I had a day off work today yesterday.   A day off should be a great day for reflection and pure relaxation . . . oh wait, I had the day off because my kids didn’t have school.   Scratch the pure relaxation!  As for the reflection, I now realize how much free time I had when I was single and childless. 

Responses

  1. It’s amazing how people that are single and childless THINK they don’t have “free time” when they don’t have any clue what a lack of free time really is.

    Don’t worry about “failing” – you can still stay in the spelling bee and try to post every day for the rest of the month anyway. Writing makes you a better writer, and writing regularly seems to increase readership on the blog.

  2. When we were right in the midst of raising a preschooler, a toddler, and an infant, my husband once asked, “So what did we actually do on the weekends before we had kids?” My reply? “We slept!”

  3. Sounds like your days off from work are just like mine – spent at home because school is out or the child is sick. I was driving away this morning and looked at my front yard – quite overgrown – and realized that it’s been well over 3 months since I spent any time weeding or cutting things back. Sigh – maybe on my next ‘day off’ which will be Thanksgiving week since school will be closed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

